Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Computational Cardiac Modeling

 

The Computational Cardiac Modeling group aims at formulating the heart's function mathematically and realistically representing it with computational models. Our research is focused on the electrophysiology and mechanics of the heart, which we represent with multiscale models. These models include several biological levels of integration from ion channels via cells to tissues and organs and the relevant phenomena span a multitude of temporal and spatial scales (microseconds to minutes; micrometers to centimeters).


The Computational Cardiac Modeling group is committed to method development and the application of computational models to answer questions of clinical relevance. Towards this aim, we pursue two approaches: On the one hand, we investigate fundamental physiological and pathological mechanisms with computational models complementary to classical approaches like cell or animal experiments. The mechanisms and relations regarding disease development, diagnosis, and therapy identified in this way can be applied to the patient's individual situation by physicians. On the other hand, we use personalized models representing and individual patient to support clinical decision making. To personalize models based on measured data of the individual patient, we collaborate closely with the Bioelectric Signals Group.


The research in our KIT Junior Research Group happens at the crossroads of engineering, computer science, natural sciences, and medicine. To develop methods and conduct simulation studies, we employ methods of software engineering, algorithmics, numerics, signal processing, data analysis, and statistics.

 

 

 

Cardiac modeling
title contact


Models of the human body
title contact


Cardiac modeling
title contact


Models of the human body
title contact


Funding

183027722, 391128822258734477 (CRC 1173)

Research Seed Capital Program

   

MY-ATRIA

ZF4363901AK6

   

05M2016

MTH16

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Computermodelle vom Herzen

Die Arbeitsgruppe Herzmodellierung hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt die Herzfunktion mathematisch zu formulieren und realitätsgetreu in Computermodellen abzubilden. Im Fokus unserer Forschung stehen die Elektrophysiologie sowie die Mechanik des Herzens, die wir mit Multiskalenmodellen repräsentieren. Diese umfassen mehrere biologische Integrationsebenen vom Ionenkanal über Zellen hin zu Geweben und Organen wobei sich die relevanten Phänomene auf unterschiedlichsten zeitlichen und räumlichen Skalen (Mikrosekunden bis Minuten; Mikrometer bis Zentimeter) abspielen. 

Die Arbeitsgruppe Herzmodellierung hat sich sowohl der Methodenentwicklung als auch der Anwendung von Computersimulationen zur Beantwortung klinisch relevanter Fragen verschrieben. Hierbei verfolgen wir zwei Wege: Zum einen untersuchen wir grundlegende physiologische und pathologische Mechanismen im Computermodell komplementär zu klassischen Ansätzen wie Zell- und Tierexperimenten. Die dabei identifizierten Mechanismen und Zusammenhänge im Bereich Krankheitsentstehung, Diagnose und Therapie können Ärzte dann auf die Situation des individuellen Patienten übertragen. Zum anderen verwenden wir personalisierte Modelle, die den individuellen Patienten repräsentieren, um die klinische Entscheidungsfindung zu unterstützen. Zur Personalisierung der Modelle basierend auf Messdaten des individuellen Patienten arbeiten wir eng mit der Arbeitsgruppe Bioelektrische Signale zusammen.

Unsere Forschung findet im Grenzbereich der Ingenieurswissenschaften, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften und der Medizin statt. Zur Methodenentwicklung und Durchführung von Simulationsstudien bedienen wir uns Methoden des Software Engineerings, der Algorithmik und Numerik, der Signalverarbeitung, Datenanalyse und Statistik.

 

 

 

Projekte
Herzmodellierung
Titel Ansprechpartner


Modelle vom Körper
Titel Ansprechpartner


Herzmodellierung
Titel Ansprechpartner


Modelle vom Körper
Titel Ansprechpartner