Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Simulation of 12-lead surface ECGs to classify cardiovascular diseases using machine learning techniques

Simulation of 12-lead surface ECGs to classify cardiovascular diseases using machine learning techniques
contact:

Claudia Nagel, Axel Loewe

The electrocardiogram (ECG) is a non-invasive and cost-effective tool for the initial examination and monitoring of patients presenting with cardiac complaints, such as among others atrial flutter or ischemia. The rising number of patients suffering from cardiovascular diseases worldwide together with future telemedicine and home monitoring systems will boost the need for automated and validated ECG analysis.

Recently, machine learning (ML) techniques have been proposed for the detection and classification of cardiac diseases based on ECG traces. However, key challenges of ML are the investigation of the influence of data uncertainty and the assessment of the techniques’ uncertainty itself. Hence, there is a strong need for a metrological validation of ECG analysis algorithms using reference data with a traceable ground truth. Ground truth in medicine is a challenge and is usually addressed either by consensus of multiple experts or by using synthetic data. 

Therefore, the aim of this project is to develop a large synthetic ECG database for the uncertainty quantification and benchmarking of different analysis algorithms. For this purpose, 10.000 12-lead surface ECG traces will be simulated using an electrophysiological modeling framework. The simulated ECGs are approved regarding their closeness to reality if a physician can't distinguish between the in silico and real clinical recordings in a blinded experiment. In doing so, an ECG reference database of a representative virtual population that includes healthy variation as well as selected pathologies will be generated and tagged with its respective labels of the modeled cardiac disease.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Simulation von 12-Kanal Oberflächen-EKGs für eine Klassifizierung von Herzkrankheiten mit Machine Learning Algorithmen

Simulation von 12-Kanal Oberflächen-EKGs für eine Klassifizierung von Herzkrankheiten mit Machine Learning Algorithmen
Ansprechpartner:

Claudia Nagel, Axel Loewe

Das Elektrokardiogramm (EKG) ist eine nicht-invasive und kosteneffektive Messmethode für die Untersuchung und das Monitoring von Patienten mit Herzbeschwerden, wie z.B. Vorhofflattern oder Ischämie. Die steigende Anzahl an an Herzkrankheiten leidenden Patienten weltweit sowie zukünftige Telemedizinsysteme werden den Bedarf an automatisierten und validierten EKG-Analysetools weiter erhöhen. 

Machine Learning (ML) Techniken sind bereits für die Detektion und Klassifikation von Herzkrankheiten basierend auf dem EKG im Einsatz. Eine zentrale Herausforderung von ML Algorithmen ist allerdings die Untersuchung von Einflüssen der Datenunsicherheit auf das Klassifikationsergebnis. Daher ist es gerade in diesem Gebiet wichtig, die Algorithmen mit Referenzdaten, die eine nachvollziehbare Grundwahrheit besitzen, zu validieren. Für medizintechnische Applikationen wird als Grundwahrheit entweder der Konsens von mehreren Ärzten herangezogen oder es werden synthetische Daten verwendet.

Daher ist das Ziel dieses Projekts, eine große Datenbank an gelabelten synthetischen EKG Zeitsignalen zu generieren, um die ML Algorithmen hinsichtlich der Datenunsicherheit zu untersuchen und ein Benchmarking unter ihnen durchzuführen. Dafür werden 10.000 12-Kanal EKG Signale mit einem elektrophysiologischen Modellierungsframework simuliert. Diese in silico generierten Daten werden als der Wirklichkeit entsprechend akzeptiert, wenn ein Arzt die computersimulierten EKGs in einer Blindstudie nicht mehr von klinisch aufgenommenen Signalen unterscheiden kann. Somit kann eine realistische gelabelte EKG Referenzdatenbank erzeugt werden, die eine virtuelle Population mit gesunden und an Herzkrankheiten leidenden Patienten repräsentiert.