Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Inductive conductivity measurement in industrial metrology

Inductive conductivity measurement in industrial metrology
contact:Marco Völker, Olaf Dössel
project group:Messtechnik/Signalverarbeitung
Inductive conductivity measurement in industrial metrology

The aim of this project is the modelling, simulation, optimisation and evaluation of inductive conductivity sensors for industrial metrology. This project is handled in cooperation with an industrial partner.
The parameter „conductivity“ is an important parameter for controlling of industrial processes. The conductivity in process technology ranges from 55 nS/cm at ultra-pure water applications (eg. for pharmaceutical products) to more than 1000 mS/cm when using hot acids and leaches (see picture). For comparison: The drinking water in the city of Karlsruhe has a conductivity from approx. 640 µS/cm to 680 µS/cm.

Inductive conductivity sensors generate a current in the medium using a coil, and measure the current with a secondary coil (see picture).
Due to the non-contact measurement principle, inductive conductivity sensors lack the problems connected with electrode sensors, like uncontrollable contamination and polarisation effects. A disadvantage of today’s inductive conductivity sensors is the reduced sensitivity and the relatively high lower measurement limit (approx. 100 µS/cm). This prevents inductive conductivity sensors being used in pure water applications.
The aim of this project is reducing the lower measurement limit by systematic model- ling, simulation and optimisation.

Basically, the project can be divided into 3 main areas:

  • Modelling and simulation
Using the programme „Comsol Multiphysics“, an FEM (finite element method) model of a toroidal coil is generated. This will allow the simulation and judgement of the coil’s parasitic effects by numerical field calculation (left picture). Also, axial symmetric models of a conductivity sensor are investigated (right picture).




  • Measurements and electrical replacement circuit
Another aim is to build up an electrical replacement circuit of the Sensor using PSpice. The replacement circuit shall include all effects important for the measurement result. For doing this, it is necessary to perform measurements with existing sensors. These measurements are done either in the hardware laboratory or in a chemical laboratory. For performing the measurements, a number of measurement equipment is supplied, amongst others a high frequency Lock-In amplifier (PerkinElmer 7280, see figure below right), a 500MHz four channel digital oscilloscope (Tektronix TDS2024, figure far below left) and a low frequency impedance analyser (HP4192A, figure far below right).






  • Hardware set-up
For the examination of different new sensor principles, sample sensors and circuits using the new principle are set up. The new measurement principles are judged by different criteria (eg. sensitivity, usability in practice and costs). For the design of printed circuit boards, complete exposure and etching equipment is supplied.


In all areas of the project, student research and final year projects (diploma thesis) can be assigned. A listing of currently available student research and final year projects can be found following the topic “Diploma thesis” on the main website. Students interested in working on the projects can contact me at any time.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Induktive Leitfähigkeitssensorik in der Industrieellen Anwendung

Induktive Leitfähigkeitssensorik in der Industrieellen Anwendung
Ansprechpartner:Marco Völker, Olaf Dössel
Projektgruppe:Messtechnik/Signalverarbeitung

Induktive Leitfähigkeitssensorik in der industrieellen Anwendung

Ziel des Projekts ist die Modellierung, Simulation, Optimierung und Evaluation von induktiven Leitfähigkeitssensoren für die industrieellen Anwendung. Die Bearbeitung des Projekts erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie.
Die Messgröße „Leitfähigkeit“ ist ein wichtiger Parameter zur Steuerung von Prozessen. Der Bereich der Leitfähigkeit in der industrieellen Anwendung reicht von 55 nS/cm bei Reinstwasseranwendungen (z.B. in der Pharmazie) bis zu mehr als 1000 mS/cm bei heißen Säuren und Laugen (siehe Bild). Zum Vergleich: Das Karlsruher Trinkwasser

hat eine Leitfähigkeit von etwa 640 µS/cm bis 680 µS/cm. Induktive Leitfähigkeitssensoren erzeugen mittels einer Spule einen Strom im Medium, welcher durch eine zweite Spule gemessen und ausgewertet wird (siehe Abbildung).

 

Durch die berührungslose Art der Messung umgehen induktive Leitfähigkeitssensoren die mit Elektroden verbundenen Probleme, wie unkontrollierbare Belagsbildung und Polarisationseffekte. Der Nachteil der derzeitigen induktiven Leitfähigkeitssensoren ist jedoch die reduzierte Empfindlichkeit und die relativ hohe untere Messbereichsgrenze (ca. 100 µS/cm). Dies schließt induktive Leitfähigkeitssensoren trotz ihrer Vorteile heute noch von Rein- und Reinstwasseranwendungen aus.
Ziel des Projekts ist es, durch systematische Modellierung, Simulation und Optimierung die Empfindlichkeit zu erhöhen und die untere Messbereichsgrenze zu reduzieren.

Grundsätzlich lässt sich das Projekt in 3 Hauptbereiche einteilen :

  • Modellierung und Simulation
Es wird mit Hilfe des Programms Comsol Multiphysics ein FEM (Finite Elemente Methode) Modell einer Toroidspule erstellt. Dies soll die Simulation durch numerische Feldberechnung und die Beurteilung parasitärer Effekte in der Spule ermöglichen (linkes Bild). Weiterhin werden auch axialsymmetrische Modelle von Sensoren untersucht (rechtes Bild).




  • Messungen und Ersatzschaltbild
Eines der Ziele dieses Projekts ist es, ein elektrisches Ersatzschaltbild in PSpice zu erstellen, das alle für das Mess- ergebnis wichtigen Effekte nachbildet. Dafür ist die Durchführung von Messungen an bestehenden Sensoren notwendig. Diese Messungen werden entweder im Hardwarelabor (rechte Abbildung) oder im Chemielabor (links) durchgeführt. Zur Durchführung der Messungen stehen verschiedene Messgeräte zur Verfügung, u.a. ein Hoch- frequenz-Lock-In-Amplifier (PerlinElmer 7280, Bild unten rechts), ein 500MHz-Vierkanal-Digitaloszilloskop (Tektronix TDS2024, Bild ganz unten links) und ein Niederfrequenz- Impedanceanalyzer (HP4192A, Bild ganz unten rechts).






  • Hardwareaufbau
Zur Untersuchung verschiedener neuer Sensorprinzipien werden entsprechende Sensoren und Schaltungen aufgebaut. Die neuen Messprinzipien werden nach verschiedenen Kriterien (u.a. Empfindlichkeit, Durchführbarkeit in der Praxis und Kosten) beurteilt. Zur Erstellung von Gedruckten Schaltungen steht eine vollständige Belichtungs- und Ätzanlage zur Verfügung.

In allen Teilgebieten dieses Projekts gibt es Studien- und Diplomarbeiten zu vergeben. Die Studien- und Diplomarbeiten sind im Bereich „Studien- und Diplomarbeiten“ auf der Website des IBT aufgelistet. Interessenten können jederzeit mit mir in Kontakt treten.