Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Modelling of the human brain to predict spatial and temporal temperature profiles for the selective hypothermia treatment of an ischemic stroke

Modelling of the human brain to predict spatial and temporal temperature profiles for the selective hypothermia treatment of an ischemic stroke
contact:

Yannick Lutz, Axel LoeweOlaf Dössel

In industrialized countries, stroke is the third-most widespread cause of death. Eighty percent of all strokes are caused by an ischemia resulting from a vascular obstruction, while intracerebral or subarachnoidal bleeding occurs in the remaining affected patients. The mortality rate of an ischemic stroke is about 25% while 35–55% of the patients experience of permanent disability.

Hypothermia is a new, promising treatment of brain tissue after it has gone through reduced blood supply as observed in ischemic stroke patients. The treatment aims to ensure reduced metabolism and an anti-inflammatory effect to avoid possible severe brain damage. However, controlling the brain temperature and adjusting the cooling parameters are essential. Unfortunately, a selective, close-up measurement of the affected brain areas with intracranial probes is invasive and poses an additional risk of injury.

A new approach involves developing a procedure to cool the blood selectively in the proximity of the vascular obstruction combined with the reperfusion. The probe that is needed to cool the blood can be placed in blood vessels leading to the obstruction. The parenchym is perfused by capillary and is not accessible.

At the Institute of Biomedical Engineering in Karlsruhe, the main objective of this research project is the development of a brain model containing the most important blood vessels and blood-perfused brain tissue. The model contains the specific properties of the tissue (specific heat capacity and heat conduction) and takes the anatomy of the vessels into account to calculate the specific temperature profile. In ischemic stroke patients, the temperature in the particular brain areas depends on the severity of the vascular obstruction and the existence of collateral vessels. The model will be capable of predicting the spatial as well as temporal temperature profile in the parenchym. The model results will be compared with experimental results of in vitro measurements with simplified silicone or PVA brain models.

Lutz PRJ 2017

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Modellierung des menschlichen Gehirns zur Bestimmung von räumlichen und zeitlichen Temperaturverläufen für die Behandlung von ischämischen Schlaganfallpatienten mittels selektiver Hypothermie

Modellierung des menschlichen Gehirns zur Bestimmung von räumlichen und zeitlichen Temperaturverläufen für die Behandlung von ischämischen Schlaganfallpatienten mittels selektiver Hypothermie
Ansprechpartner:

Yannick Lutz, Axel LoeweOlaf Dössel

In den westlichen Ländern ist der Schlaganfall die dritthäufigste Todesursache. 80% aller Schlaganfälle liegt eine Ischämie durch Gefäßverschluss zugrunde. Bei den restlichen Betroffenen kommt es zu einer intrazerebralen oder subarachnoidalen Blutung. Die Sterberate beim ischämischen Schlaganfall liegt bei ca. 25%, während 35-55% aller Patienten eine bleibende Behinderung zurückbehalten.

Hypothermie ist eine neue, vielversprechende Behandlungsmethode des Hirngewebes bei einer Blutunterversorgung, wie sie beim ischämischen Schlaganfallpatienten auftritt. Das Ziel der Behandlung ist ein verringerter Metabolismus und eine entzündungshemmende Wirkung, um schwere Hirnschäden zu verhindern. Hierfür ist die exakte Kontrolle der lokalen Hirntemperatur und der Kühlungsparameter notwendig. Leider ist eine selektive, genaue Messung der Temperatur in den betroffenen Hirnregionen mit einer intracranialen Sonde invasiv und bietet daher ein zusätzliches Verletzungsrisiko.
Ein neuer Ansatz ist die Entwicklung eines Verfahrens zur selektiven Blutkühlung in der Nähe des betroffenen Gefäßes in Kombination mit der Gefäßreperfusion. Die hierfür nötige Sonde kann im hinführenden Gefäß platziert werden, aber nicht im Hirngewebe (Parenchym). Das Parenchym wird durch Kapillare mit Blut versorgt und ist nicht zugänglich.

Am Institut für Biomedizinische Technik in Karlsruhe ist die Hauptaufgabe des Forschungsprojekts die Entwicklung und Modellierung eines Hirnmodells, welches die wichtigsten Blutgefäße des Hirns sowie das Parenchym enthält. Das Modell beinhaltet die spezifischen Gewebeeigenschaften (spezifische Wärmekapazität und Wärmeleitung) und berücksichtigt die Gefäßanatomie, um einen spezifischen Temperaturverlauf zu berechnen. Beim ischämischen Schlaganfallpatienten ist die Temperatur der betroffenen Hirnareale abhängig vom Grad des Gefäßverschlusses sowie von der Existenz möglicher Kollateralgefäße (Querverbindungen). Das fertige Modell ist in der Lage den zeitlichen, sowie den räumlichen Verlauf der Temperatur im Parenchym vorherzusagen. Die Modellvorhersagen werden mit in-vitro Messungen an vereinfachten Silikon und PVA Modellen des Hirns verifiziert.

Lutz PRJ 2017