Institute of Biomedical Engineering
2020
BildComparison of Unipolar and Bipolar Voltage Mapping

IBT researches in collaboration with the University Heart Centre Freiburg have published a paper comparing unipolar and bipolar voltage mapping for localisation of atrial substrate.

More

Frontiers in Physiologie
Logo BMT 2020BMT 2020

Das IBT nimmt an der jährlichen VDE DGBMT Kongressveranstaltung teil.

Mehr
Logo NBC 2020North Baltic Conference 2020

A scientist of the IBT presented and discussed his results on the simulation of the propagation of photons in a blood vessel.

More
GruppenbildComputing in Cardiology 2020

Eight delegates represented IBT at this year’s Computing in Cardiology conference in Rimini which brought together both onsite and remote participants during the COVID-19 pandemic.

More
FIG. 1. Each section of this work can be attributed to at least one of the topics in the green boxes. Although they are separated in this diagram, they are closely connected and depend on each other. That is why collaboration between the fields is of paraReview article on the ECG-based potassium and calcium concentration estimation
Spektrum der Wissenschaft 2020.10A digital heart

The current issue of the popular scientific journal „Spektrum der Wissenschaft“, the German branch of the Scientific American, features an article of the head of the Computational Cardiac Modeling group at IBT. Under the headline „A digital heart“, Axel Loewe describes the motivation for and the basics of computational heart models and illustrates first successful examples of translation to clinical practice and clinical research.

More
Geodätische Längenmessung in medizinischen Aufnahmen.Geodesic Length Measurement in Medical Images

Publication of the investigation of the discretization error and its reduction in the geodesic length measurement.

More
AI in medicineArtificial intelligence in medicine

That is the topic of the Herrenhausen Forum on July 14, 2020. The discussion with experts from IT, medicine and law was about responsibility and trust.

More
News 2020-06-23Identification of intraatrial arrhythmogenic sources

Contributions by the university medical center Freiburg and IBT resulted in a paper on the identification of intraatrial arrhythmogenic sources using intracardiac electrogram characteristics.

More
FasernEffect of fibers and bulk modulus on the electromechanics of the ventricle

In collaboration with the Politecnico of Milan, IBT presented an electromechanical model of bi-ventricular human geometries to study influences on the pressure-volume relation.

More
IMG_2020-06-02_atrial flutter in ECGNew spatio-temporal methods to characterize atrial flutter mechanisms using the ECG

IBT researchers published two novel methods for a non-invasive atrial flutter characterization together with physicians from the University of Leicester, the ABC Federal University, and the clinicians form the Städtisches Klinikum Karlsruhe in the journal “IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering”. Spatio-temporal recurrence quantification analysis methods were used to characterize and discriminate several atrial flutter mechanisms from the 12-lead ECG in a computational framework. Thanks to these methods, the duration of the invasive atrial mapping and ablation procedure might shorten significantly. The computational study was complemented and fortified by a clinical case used as a proof of concept.

More
Hemmstoff A293Potassium channel inhibitor A293 indicates therapeutic potential for the treatment of atrial fibrillation

In collaboration with the Institute of Biomedical Engineering at KIT and the University Heart Center Freiburg – Bad Krozingen, researchers from the Medical University Hospital Heidelberg published an article on the antiarrhythmic effects of A293 on cardioversion of atrial fibrillation. As a high-affinity potassium channel inhibitor, A293 mitigates the pathological shortening of the atrial action potential duration.  The study indicated the therapeutic potential of A293 for the treatment of atrial fibrillation with single cell experiments, a porcine model, as well as computer simulations in a three-dimensional atrium. The open access article was published in the Journal of the American Heart Association (JAHA).

More
Natrium-Calcium-AustauschersWhat's the role of the sodium calcium exchanger for the spontaneous beating of the heart?

Together with researchers from the University of Szeged, IBT researchers have published a review article on the role of the sodium calcium exchanger for the activity of natural pacemaker cells. These cells are located in the so-called sinus node of the heart and make for the rhythmic beating of our hearts. The review article integrates findings from experimental studies with computational modeling. It was published in the Frontiers in Pharmacology journal and is freely available (open access).

More
F1000ResearchPolicy paper on Research Software Engineering in Germany

The collaborative opinion article "An environment for sustainable research software in Germany and beyond: current state, open challenges, and call for action" was recently published as a preprint for open peer review in F1000Research. This paper is the outcome of a workshop at the first German conference on Research Engineering and a dedicated DFG-funded follow up workshop hosted by the Robert Koch Institute. KIT and IBT researchers played a leading role in bringing together the group and coordinating the writing process. With more than 40 authors and wide community review, this grass-roots initiative calls for action to make software a first class citizen in research.

More
openCARPopenCARP released

openCARP is an open cardiac electrophysiology simulator for in-silico experiments. Its source code is public and the software is freely available for academic purposes. openCARP is easy to use and offers single cell as well as multiscale simulations from ion channel to organ level. Additionally, openCARP includes a wide variety of functions for pre- and post-processing of data as well as visualization. The python-based CARPutils framework enables the user to develop and share simulation pipelines, i.e. automating in-silico experiments including all modeling/simulation steps.
openCARP is a joint effort of the Medical University of Graz (Gernot Plank), LIRYC Bordeaux (Ed Vigmond), U Freiburg (Gunnar Seemann) and KIT (Axel Loewe).

openCARP
Konferenz 2020-02-04SPIE Photonics West

Two members of the IBT attended, presented two talks and shared their results on novel segmentation methods and a 3D microscale test target at the SPIE Photonics West Conference in San Francisco on the 01st February to 06th February. The useful feedback will be incorporated in further research and contact to possible new collaborates was set.

News 2020-01-30What makes the heart beat?

The sinus node is the natural pacemaker of the heart initiating each heart beat. Its pacemaking function results from the interplay of to cooperating systems: the so-called membrane clock and the calcium clock. The precise role of these two mechanisms is incompletely understood. Together with a group of experimental researchers from Szeged (Hungrary), the Cardiac Modeling group could now further elucidate the role of the calcium clock. A novel pharmacological agent allows to specifically block the sodim-calcium exchanger. IBT researcher could reproduce and further investigate this effect mechanistically in a computational model. By combining experiment and computer simulation, the crucial role of the sodium-calcium exchanger and the interplay with the membrane clock could be consolidated. The study explains how the natural pacemaker of the heart becomes robust and reliable through the interplay of the two systems calcium clock and membrane clock.

More
dotnetpro 2020Heart Simulator 1.0

The issue 1/2020 of the "dotnetpro“ journal features an article about the research of the cardiac modeling group. dotnetpro delivers expert knowledge for software developers, who use Microsoft technologies to write programs for Microsoft and non-Microsoft platforms. The idea behind the article is to provide a broader view for the dotnetpro readers, who mostly are software developers. The article introduces and describes the implementation of the multiscale simulation approach (from ion channels via cells and tissue up to the organ) for electrophysiology, which is developed and used at IBT. 

More
TRM_2020Towards the Digital Twin

Axel Loewe from IBT was invited to present at the 10th "TRM Forum on the Computer Simulation of Cardiac Function“. The meeting brings together leading experts on computational modeling, experimental assessment, and clinical research in the field of cardiac arrhythmias. We contributed to this year’s theme „Towards the Digital Twin“ by presenting work that allows to build a biomechanical twin of an individual patient. In addition, the session "Atrial modeling & experimental data" was chaired by the IBT researcher.

More

Institut für Biomedizinische Technik
2020
BildVergleich von unipolarer und bipolarer Spannungskartierung

Forscher des IBT haben in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Universitäts-Herzzentrum Freiburg einen Artikel veröffentlicht, in welchem die unipolare und bipolare Spannungskartierung zur Lokalisierung des atrialen Substrats verglichen wird.

Mehr

Frontiers in Physiologie
Logo BMT 2020BMT 2020

Das IBT nimmt an der jährlichen VDE DGBMT Kongressveranstaltung teil.

Mehr
Logo NBC 2020North Baltic Conference 2020

Ein Wissenschaftler des IBT konnte seine Ergebnisse in der Simulation der Propagation von Photonen in einem Blutgefäß vorstellen und diskutieren.

Mehr
GruppenbildComputing in Cardiology 2020

Acht Vertreter repräsentierten das IBT auf der diesjährigen Konferenz Computing in Cardiology in Rimini, die sowohl Präsenz- als auch Online-Teilnehmern ein gemeinsames Konferenzerlebnis während der COVID-19 Pandemie bot.

Mehr
FIG. 1. Each section of this work can be attributed to at least one of the topics in the green boxes. Although they are separated in this diagram, they are closely connected and depend on each other. That is why collaboration between the fields is of paraReview-Artikel zur Calcium- und Kaliumkonzentrationsschätzung mit dem EKG
Spektrum der Wissenschaft 2020.10Ein digitales Herz

In der aktuellen Ausgabe der populärwissenschaftlichen Zeitschrift „Spektrum der Wissenschaft“ erscheint ein Artikel des Leiters der Arbeitsgruppe Herzmodellierung am IBT. Unter dem Titel „Ein digitales Herz“ beschreibt Axel Loewe die Motivation und die Grundlagen der Computermodelle des Herzens und zeigt erste Anwendungen in medizinischer Versorgung und klinischer Forschung auf.

Mehr
Geodätische Längenmessung in medizinischen Aufnahmen.Geodätische Längenmessung in medizinischen Aufnahmen

Publikation der Untersuchung des Diskretisierungsfehlers und dessen Minimierung in der Vermessung von Geodätischen Längen.

Mehr
KI in der MedizinKünstliche Intelligenz in der Medizin

Ist das Thema des Herrenhäuser Forums am 14. Juli 2020. In der Diskussion mit Experten und Expertinnen aus Informatik, Medizin und Recht ging es um Verantwortung und Vertrauen.

Mehr
News 2020-06-23Identifizierung intraatrialer arrhythmogener Quellen

Aus Beiträgen des Universitätsklinikums Freiburg und des IBT entstand ein Paper über die Identifikation von intraatrialen, arrhythmogenen Quellen basierend auf Elektrogrammeigenschaften.

Mehr
FaserorientierungEinfluss von Fasern und Volumenmodul auf die Elektromechanik des Ventrikels

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Politecnico Mailand präsentierte das IBT ein elektromechanisches Modell biventrikulärer Geometrien um Einflüsse auf die Druck-Volumen Beziehung zu untersuchen.

Mehr
IMG_2020-06-02_atrial flutter in ECGNeue raum-zeitliche Methoden zur Charakterisierung atrialer Flattermechanismen mit Hilfe des EKG

In der Zeitschrift "IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering" veröffentlichten IBT-Forscher zusammen mit Ärzten der Universität Leicester, der ABC Federal University und den Klinikern des Städtischen Klinikums Karlsruhe zwei neuartige Methoden zur nicht-invasiven Charakterisierung des Vorhofflatterns. Zur Charakterisierung und Unterscheidung verschiedener Vorhofflattermechanismen aus dem 12-Kanal-EKG wurden Methoden der raum-zeitlichen Rezidivquantifizierung in einem rechnerischen Rahmen eingesetzt. Dank dieser Methoden konnte die Dauer des invasiven Vorhofkartierungs- und Ablationsverfahrens erheblich verkürzt werden. Die rechnergestützte Studie wurde durch einen klinischen Fall als Proof-of-Concept ergänzt und untermauert.

Mehr
Hemmstoff A293Kaliumkanal Hemmstoff A293 zeigt therapeutisches Potenzial für die Behandlung von Vorhofflimmern

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Biomedizinische Technik des KIT und dem Herzzentrum Freiburg veröffentlichten Forscher des Universitätsklinikums Heidelberg einen Artikel über die antiarrhythmischen Effekte von A293 auf die Kardioversion von Vorhofflimmern. Als Kaliumkanal Hemmstoff von hoher Affinität lindert A293 die pathologische Verkürzung des atrialen Aktionspotenzials. Mit Einzelzellexperimenten, einem Schweinemodell sowie Computersimulationen im dreidimensionalen Vorhof konnte die Studie das therapeutische Potenzial von A293 für die Behandlung von Vorhofflimmern aufzeigen. Der Open Access Artikel erschien im Journal of the American Heart Association (JAHA).

Mehr
Natrium-Calcium-AustauschersWelche Rolle spielt der Natrium-Calcium-Austauscher für den spontanen Herzschlag?

Gemeinsam mit Forschern der Universität Szeged haben Wissenschaftler des IBT einen Übersichtsartikel zur Rolle des Natrium-Calcium-Austauschers für die Aktivität natürlicher Schrittmacherzellen veröffentlicht. Diese Schrittmacherzellen im sogenannten Sinusknoten des Herzens sorgen dafür, dass unser Herz regelmäßig schlägt. Der Übersichtsartikel integriert Erkenntnisse aus experimentellen Studien und Computermodellierung. Er erschien im Fachmagazin Frontiers in Pharmacology und ist frei verfügbar (Open Access).

Mehr
F1000ResearchStellungnahme zu Forschungssoftware in Deutschland

Die Stellungnahme "An environment for sustainable research software in Germany and beyond: current state, open challenges, and call for action" wurde als Vorveröffentlichung zur offenen Begutachtung in F1000Research veröffentlicht. Der Artikel ist das Ergebnis eines Workshops im Rahmen der ersten Deutschen Konferenz für Forschungssoftware und einem DFG-geförderten Folgeworkshop am Robert Koch Institut. KIT und IBT Wissenschaftler spielten eine führende Rolle dabei die Gruppe zusammen zu bringen und den Schreibprozess zu koordinieren. Mit mehr als 40 Autoren und einer breiten öffentlichen Diskussion, fordert diese Basisinitiative Maßnahmen, um Forschungssoftware zum "Bürger erster Klasse" in der Wissenschaft zu machen.

Mehr
openCARPopenCARP veröffentlicht

openCARP ist ein offenes Simulationsprogramm für kardiale Elektrophysiologie. Der Quellcode ist öffentlich zugänglich und kann für akademische Zwecke frei verwendet werden. openCARP ist einfach zu nutzen und ermöglicht in-silico Experimente vom Ionenkanal über die Zelle bis hin zum Gewebe und Organ. openCARP ist eine gemeinsame Initiative der Medizinischen Universität Graz (Gernot Plank), LIRYC Bordeaux (Ed Vigmond), Uni Freiburg (Gunnar Seemann) und des KIT (Axel Loewe).

openCARP
Konferenz 2020-02-04SPIE Photonics West

Zwei Mitarbeiter des IBT nahmen an der SPIE Photonics West Konferenz in San Francisco vom 01. bis 06. Februar teil und hielten zwei Präsentationen über neue Segmentierungsmethoden und ein 3D Mikro-Test-Target. 
Die Diskussion und das Feedback waren sehr nützlich und der Kontakt zu möglichen Kooperationspartnern wurde hergestellt.

News 2020-01-30Was bringt das Herz zum Schlagen?

Der Sinusknoten ist der natürliche Schrittmacher des Herzens, der jeden Herzschlag initiiert. Die Schrittmacherfunktion ergibt sich dabei aus dem Zusammenspiel von zwei kooperierenden Systemen: der sogenannten Membranuhr und der Calciumuhr. Die genauen Rollen dieser beiden Mechanismen sind noch unvollständig verstanden.  Gemeinsam mit einer Gruppe experimentell arbeiterender Forscher aus Szeged (Ungarn), konnte die Arbeitsgruppe Herzmodellierung jetzt die Rolle der Calciumuhr näher bestimmen. Ein neuartiger pharmakologischer Wirkstoff erlaubt es den Natrium-Calcium-Austauscher gezielt zu blockieren. Die Wissenschaftler des IBT konnten diesen Effekt im Computermodell reproduzieren und näher untersuchen. Durch Kombination von Experiment und Computersimulation wurde die wichtige Rolle des Natrium-Calcium-Austauschers und die Interaktion mit der Membranuhr bestätigt. Die Studie erklärt wie der natürlich Schrittmacher des Herzens durch das Zusammenspiel der beiden Systeme Calciumuhr und Membranuhr besonders robust und zuverlässig arbeitet.

Mehr
dotnetpro 2020Herzsimulator 1.0

In der Ausgabe 1/2020 der Zeitschrift "dotnetpro" erscheint ein Artikel über die Forschung der Arbeitsgruppe Herzmodellierung. dotnetpro liefert Profiwissen für Softwareentwickler, die mit Microsoft-Technologien für Microsoft- und NichtMicrosoft-Plattformen Programme schreiben. Die Idee des Artikels ist ein Blick über den Tellerrand für die dotnetpro-Leser, die größtenteils Softwareentwickler sind. Im Artikel wird der Multiskalensimulationsansatz (vom Ionenkanal über Zellen und Gewebe zum Organ) für die Elektrophysiologie, der am IBT entwickelt und verwendet wird, näher vorgestellt und auf die Implementierung eingegangen.

Mehr
TRM_2020Auf dem Weg zum digitalen Zwilling

Axel Loewe vom IBT war eingeladen einen Vortrag beim 10. "TRM Forum on the Computer Simulation of Cardiac Function“ zu halten. Die Konferenz versammelt weltweit führende Experten der Computermodellierung, der experimentellen Untersuchung und der klinischen Forschung im Bereich Herzrhythmusstörungen. Wir haben zum diesjährigen Motto „Towards the Digital Twin“ beigetragen indem wir Arbeiten vorgestellt haben, die es erlauben einen biomechanisches Abbild eines individuellen Patienten zu erstellen. Außerdem wurde die Sitzung "Atrial modeling & experimental data" vom IBT-Forscher geleitet.

Mehr